Step Away From The Credit Card! Selecting Your Materials.

I guess this is going to be different for everyone, we all have our individual methodologies for choosing our Magickal supplies, but this is the method that I am going to use. I have never been one of those people that have to have that piece of Obsidian for healing or Sardonyx for creativity, there are certain materials that have come into my life and for one reason or another they feel important to me. Sometimes I am not even sure exactly what each stone is or what type or wood it is that I am using but I know that I am supposed to be using them.

Sometimes, when I am researching philosophy and history for my Pagan studies I get into a very reasoned and rational frame of mind, which is great for academic work and something we should always be aware of when studying. However, this self-imposed frame of mind sometimes leaks over into my Magickal workings. I end up asking myself “should I be doing this? What are my motives?” questions like this are definitely a good thing…sometimes. Often I would end up feeling stifled, I loose the momentum and energy of a situation and that’s not something I want.
So, I am going to flip my rational brain off and let my intuition be my guide. But don’t worry I am keeping my common sense brain on. Lol, yes I have lot of brains! Since I am going to use wood for my wand, I don’t know what kind yet but I want quite a dense wood that is not too soft, so I will keep an eye out for that when I begin my search.

ED: One more thing I wanted to go over here is the use of animal parts in your ritual tools, for example: feathers for decorations and bone for handles. What I mean here is the moral issue of incorporating them.
I am a meat eater so I think that to condemn the killing of would be naïve, it goes on, and you cannot ignore that. Animals are killed for you everyday, why not celebrate this sacrifice by using the rest of the animal? If you are not a meat eater, why not take antique animal parts, such as taxidermined animals in poses and fur coats and give them some dignity and respect by using them. Whatever your views, you will have to make your own mind up but for myself I am not ruling out any animal parts that I find or want to use.

1 Response to “Step Away From The Credit Card! Selecting Your Materials.”


  1. 1 smoo March 7, 2007 at 11:38 pm

    There is a great interview with Lupa, the author of Fang and Fur, Blood and Bone, on the Pagan podcast Deo’s shadow. There discuss, among other things the ethicasy of using animal parts as materials in creating magickal items.→

    http://www.deos-shadow.com/index.php?id=42


Leave a Reply

